Minnesota Teacher of the Year to be chosen from 130+ candidates

(ABC 6 News) – The 2023 Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be chosen from a field of 131 candidates it was announced on Wednesday by Education Minnesota.

This year’s program will name the 59th Minnesota Teacher of the Year, and celebrates the tradition of excellence in teaching in Minnesota. Eligible candidates include pre-kindergarten through 12th-grade, Early Childhood Family Education and Adult Basic Education teachers, from public or private schools. 

Local finalists for the award are listed below:

  • Burke Egner – Albert Lea Area Schools
  • Jessica Bernand – Austin Public Schools
  • Heather Ruzek – Austin Public Schools
  • Rachel Thoma – Dover-Eyota Public Schools
  • Krista Bumgardner Houston Public Schools
  • Anthony Boldt – Kasson-Mantorville School District
  • Jeff Wibben – Kenyon-Wanamingo Schools

An independent panel of leaders in the fields of education, business, government, nonprofit and philanthropy will read candidates’ portfolios over the next few weeks and narrow the list to a group of semifinalists. In March, the panel will convene again and review additional materials from the semifinalists to choose a group of finalists.

The Minnesota Teacher of the Year banquet is set for May 7 at the Saint Paul RiverCentre.

For a list of all the Teacher of the Year candidates, CLICK HERE.