Rochester teacher among finalists for Teacher of the Year, winner announced Wednesday

(ABC 6 News) – A Rochester teacher could be named the 2021 Minnesota Teacher of the Year. Nine finalists have been selected out of 75 candidates.

The winner will be announced Wednesday between 7:45 and 8 p.m. during the 57th annual Teacher of the Year event. The ceremony can be viewed by clicking here.

Finalists include:

  • Layne Bell, Hopkins Public Schools, Hopkins High School – Hopkins Achievement Program alternative program, language arts, 9th-12th.
  • Natalia Benjamin, Rochester Public Schools, Century High School, EL and ethnic studies, 9th – 12th.
  • Kim Marty–Goblirsch, Medford Public Schools, Medford High School, language arts, 9th-12th.
  • Todd Hunter, Anoka-Hennepin School District, Anoka High School, science, 10th-12th.
  • Eugenia Popa, Saint Paul Public Schools, Harding Senior High School, ESL, 9th-12th.
  • France Roberts, Wayzata Public Schools, Meadow Ridge Elementary School, elementary education, 1st.
  • Sandra Stephens, South Washington County Schools, Nuevas Fronteras Spanish Immersion, elementary education, kindergarten.
  • Jessica Stewart, Osseo Area Schools, Osseo Senior High School, social studies, 9th-12th.
  • Lauren Wheeler, Minneapolis Public Schools, Thomas Edison High School, fitness for life/health, 9th-12th.