Senate DFL selects new Majority Leader

New State Senate DFL Majority Leader

A comprehensive look of the day's local, regional and national news, detailed events, late-breaking stories and weather updates are provided by the ABC 6 News Team.

(ABC 6 News) – The DFL selected Senator Erin Murphy as the party’s new Majority Leader.

Murphy hails from St. Paul and a registered nurse, who has been very active with the Minnesota Nurses Association.

— RELATED: Senate Majority Leader Dziedzic stepping down, ovarian cancer recurrence

Murphy was selected after the previous Majority Leader, Senator Kari Dziedzic (DFL), announced her ovarian cancer came out of remission.

Dziedzic will finish her active term as senator and will only step down as Senate Majority Leader.