2024 Rochester Sports Banquet Recap

2024 Rochester Sports Banquet Recap

The day's local, regional and national news, detailed events and late-breaking stories are presented by the ABC 6 News Team, along with the latest sports, weather updates including the extended forecast.

(ABC 6 News) — Recap of the 2024 Rochester Sports Banquet on Monday, January 15.

Several Southeast Minnesota individuals were recognized and honored for their success this past year with eight winners announced. The banquet’s guest speaker was longtime former Atlanta Hawk Spud Webb, winner of the 1986 NBA Slam Dunk Contest. ABC 6 Sports Director José Solís and Good Morning Meteorologist Brandon Marshall emceed the event.

Team of the Year: Stewartville Football

Coach of the Year: Garrett Mueller, Stewartville Football

Female Athlete of the Year: Makadyn Gust, St. Charles Girls Basketball, Soccer, Softball

Male Athlete of the Year: Carter Holcomb Football and Track & Field

Adaptive Athlete of the Year: Tyler Gunnarson, St. Charles Track & Field

Post High School Female Athlete of the Year: Taylor Heise, PWHL Minnesota

Post High School Male Athlete of the Year: Cade Sheehan, Augsburg University

Lifetime Achievement Award Winner: Jon Springer, Longtime High School Official