Iowa’s Caitlin Clark voted Big Ten Player of the Year

(ABC 6 News) – For the second consecutive year, Iowa guard Caitlin Clark has been voted Big Ten Player of the Year by both conference coaches and a select panel of Big Ten media members.

The Iowa junior guard is the first back-to-back recipient of the honor since another Hawkeye, Megan Gustafson, was chosen in 2018 and 2019. This also marks the fifth time in six seasons and ninth time overall that an Iowa student-athlete has been named Big Ten Player of the Year.

Ohio State forward Cotie McMahon was named the Big Ten Freshman of the Year, while Indiana’s Teri Moren was selected as the Big Ten Coach of the Year. Indiana senior forward Mackenzie Holmes earned Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year honors, while Iowa freshman forward Hannah Stuelke was voted the Big Ten’s Sixth Player of the Year.

Clark leads the nation in assists (8.2 assists per game) and is second in the country in scoring (27.2 points per game) after becoming the first player to finish No. 1 in both categories last season. She also owns a nation-leading three triple-doubles this season, giving her a conference-record nine for her career (tied for second in NCAA history).

The Iowa Hawkeye’s (23-6, 15-3) have the No. 2 seed in the Women’s Big Ten Tournament which tips off Wednesday and will continue through Sunday, with all 13 games being played for the first time at the Target Center in Minneapolis. Iowa won the tournament last year.