State Canvassing Board certifies 2022 general election results

(ABC 6 News) – The Minnesota State Canvassing Board on Tuesday unanimously certified the results of the 2022 general election.

The certification included state offices, judicial offices and 8 U.S. House of Representatives’ races.

Currently in Minnesota, the DFL (Democratic-Farmer-Labor Party) will have an 70-64 seat advantage over Republicans in the House and a 34-33 edge in the Senate when the 2023 session begins on Jan. 3.

There are 2 races separated by less than one-half of 1%, and by law, are eligible for recounts. Those races are below:

  • District 3A: Republican Roger Skraba leads Rep. Rob Ecklund (DFL-International Falls) 10,868-10,853 (49.98%-49.91%) with 22 write-in votes.
  • District 3B: Republican Natalie Zeleznikar leads Rep. Mary Murphy (DFL-Hermantown) 10,812-10,777 (50.01%-49.85%) with 31 write-in votes.

David Maeda, the State Election Director, said the recount in the 2 districts is expected to begin next week with the State Canvassing Board scheduled to reconvene on Dec. 9 to certify the recount votes.

The Minnesota Secretary of State office says more than 2.52 million votes were cast in the 2022 general election, including more than 671,000 absentee. During the last non-presidential election in 2018, voter turnout was around 2.6 million, including about 637,000 absentee.

To view 2022 general election results, CLICK HERE.