Gov. Walz fills vacancy in Minnesota’s Third Judicial District

(ABC 6 News) – Governor Tim Walz announced on Wednesday who will fill the vacancy in Minnesota’s Third Judicial District.

Jeremy Clinefelter, has been chosen and will replace the Honorable Matthew J. Opat. Clinefelter will be chambered in Preston in Fillmore County.

“I am excited to appoint Jeremy Clinefelter to the Fillmore County bench,” said Governor Walz. “He is a proven leader with an extensive legal background working as a public defender, county attorney, and private attorney. He will be a tremendous asset to the Third Judicial District.”

The Third Judicial District consists of 11 counties in Southeast Minnesota including; Dodge, Fillmore, Freeborn, Houston, Mower, Olmsted, Rice, Steele, Wabasha, Waseca, and Winona. 

Twenty-four judges and one referee serve the District.

In September, the Commission on Judicial Selection recommended three candidates to fill the vacancy. Clinefelter, Debra Groehler, and Dwight Luhmann.

RELATED: Commission on Judicial Selection recommends Third Judicial District candidates to Gov. Walz

For more information about the judicial selection process, CLICK HERE.