Gov. Walz authorizes disaster assistance for 8 counties, including Freeborn

(ABC 6 News) – Governor Tim Walz announced on Friday that he has authorized emergency assistance for eight Minnesota counties due to severe weather and flooding damage sustained during four different weather events spanning between April 22 and July 5.

The counties include:

  • Becker
  • Benton
  • Lyon
  • McLeod
  • Murray
  • Cottonwood
  • Rock
  • Freeborn

Freeborn County is eligible and will receive assistance due to severe thunderstorms with heavy rains and flooding that occurred on July 5.

“Minnesota’s emergency management team has been hard at work meeting with local teams to assess damage due to several severe weather events in recent months,” said Governor Walz. “The State of Minnesota is committed to supporting the communities in these counties as they recover from severe weather events.”

The Department of Public Safety division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management will continue to work with the counties who were impacted by these severe weather events as directed by the Governor.