Seven SE Minnesota educators nominated for Teacher of the Year

(ABC 6 News) – 158 finalists line the field for the 2024 Minnesota Teacher of the Year, seven of which hail from southern Minnesota.

Education Minnesota, and education trade union, celebrates excellence in teaching in Minnesota every year by combing through teacher’s portfolios and selecting educators that reflect excellence in education.

A panel will read through candidates over the next few weeks to narrow down a group of semifinalists by March.

The Minnesota Teacher of the Year banquet will take place at the Saint Paul RiverCentre on May 5.

Below is a list of local educators nominated for Minnesota Teacher of the Year.

Mary Bissen, Albert Lea Area Schools

Starr Kloskin, Albert Lea Area Schools

Lars Johnson, Austin Public Schools

Sara Bailey, Kasson-Mantorville Schools

Tiffany Walerius, Owatonna Public Schools

Kim Hill, Rochester Public Schools

Abigail Mooney, Winona Area Public Schools

For a full list of this year’s nominees, CLICK HERE