Rochester students & clubs honored at RPS meeting

(ABC 6 News) – It was a jam-packed room during Tuesday’s Rochester Public Schools board meeting. The board honored students and clubs from around Rochester for their regional, state, and national achievements.

The following schools, students, and programs were mentioned:

Gage Elementary:

Advisors – Thomas Brown and Anna Skare

Lego Robotics

  • Lily Carey, Abby Owusu, Evelyn Campos Perez  – 2nd Place
  • Pipkorn, Ariadne Rivera Morales, Wyatt Lipinski-Boulder  – 3rd Place
  • Hudson Eswagen, Walter Scharf, and Syren Tennyson – Competed

Kellogg Middle School:

Math Masters

Advisor – Jack Failor

Regional Results

  • Eric Ding 1st (State)
  • Elizabeth Zhu 2nd (State)
  • Mandy Yu 3rd (State)
  • Artina Kazemi 4th (State)
  • Elma Zhang 5th (State)
  • Arden Peng 6th (State)
  • Dylan Trinidad 7th
  • Julia Wang 9th
  • Lucas Wang 11th
  • Roger Wei 14th
  • Anshdeep Singh 16th
  • Yufei Zhou 17t

State Results

  • Kellogg finished 2nd as a team.
  • Eric Deng attending Nationals.

Math Masters Individual Competitor

  • Kellogg Student Ansh Singh finished 1st in both team and individuals


Advisor – Albert Lee

Fall Middle School Tournament

  • Zora McLaurin – 2nd Place
  • Therese Woerter 1st Place

State Tournament

  • Team finished in 1st Place

Table Tennis:

Kellogg Student Mandy Yu, 2023 National Table Tennis Team Trials in North Carolina. Earned spots on both U17 and U15 girls & 39’s national teams.

Century High School:

Business Professionals of America

Advisor – Shelley Filzen

  • Dean Wang
  • Zhongyu (Ethan) Zhang 1st Place Advanced Accounting
  • Danielle Wang 1st Place Medical Terminology, 2nd Place User Experience Design Team
  • Armita Kazemi 1st Place Fundamentals of Web Design

22-23 MMEA All-State Band / Orchestra

  • Nathan Anderson
  • Edra Clements
  •  Briar Daire
  • Natasha Dalley
  • Shawn Erickson
  • Samuel Freimuth
  • Luke Kim
  • Alayna Thompson

Region 1AA Solo / Small Ensemble – Best In Site (Solos)

  • Nathan Anderson
  • Shawn Erickson
  • Luke Kim

Region 1AA Solo / Small Ensemble – Best In Site (Ensemble)

  • Nathan Anderson
  • Reed Blocksome
  • Luke Kim
  • Isaac Kitange
  • Aru Lamba
  • Theo Smith
  • Micah Williams

Chess Club

Advisor – Chuck Handlon

  • Golden Peng 
  • Ethan Zhang 3rd place RASCL Varsity
  • Jayan Jaychandran 2nd place RASCL Varsity, RASCL All League
  • Nolan Schnaedter 4th place RASCL Varsity
  • Rowan Thompson
  • Yuchen Shi
  • Team placed 4th in the Minnesota State Chess Association Scholastic Tournament
  • Team placed 1st in the 2022 – 23 Rochester Area Scholastic Chess League Champions

State Math League

Advisor – Kyal Brandt

  • Team placed 3rd at AAA State Math League
  • Big 9 1st Place Individual & State Math Bowl Qualifier
  • Big 9 individual 2nd Place & USAMO Qualifier

John Marshall High School

Business Professionals of America

Advisor – Cameron Holland

  • Djouma Ousmann
  • Alana Acker
  • Odile Djom Kenmogne,
  •  Harshdeep Kaur
  • April Khy Neang
  • Mimi Nguyen
  • Hawa Sheriff

Science Olympiad

Advisor – Eric Stanslaski

  • Krish Khurana
  • Noah Stanslaski
  • Anguil Bola
  • Odile Djom Kenmogne
  • Muniba Hassan
  • Anna Sun
  • Jacobi Issa
  • Heder Jang
  • Arjun Khurana
  • Sreyoli Bhattacharya
  • Hasan Mohammed
  • George Cole
  • Hussein Mohammed
  • Caddem Alexander
  • Anton Gahk
  •  Koobhmoov Yang
  • Team Award – 2nd Place Experimental Design
  • Team Award – Spirit Award


Coach – KamauWilkins

Mateo Wilkins, State Champion in fencing

All State Band

Teacher – Jonathon Soderberg-Chase

Alexand Younk

State Debate

Advisor – Claire Sagstuen

  • Aaron Ress
  • Hershy Kaur
  • Manasa Yerriboyina
  • National Qualifiers and Alternates: Manasa Yerriboyina (House qualifier) Hershy Kaur (Senate alternate) Alexandra Frei (Humor alternate)

All State Choir

Teacher – Jennifer Humke

  • Andrew Cook
  • Katheryn Strum

Mayo High School:

Business Professionals of America

Advisor – Pam Priebe

  • Carter Jones, 4th Place Payroll Accounting (National Qualifier)
  • Logan Burger, 6th Place Payroll Accounting and 8th Place Banking and Finance
  • Reese Ackerman, 11th Place Health Leadership Special Topic
  • Alex Gyarmaty, Ethan Kramer & Brig Poppe, 16th Place Small Business Mgmt.
  • Sammy Shao, 17th Personal Finance, 21st of 126 participants Financial Math & Analysis Concepts
  • Ruby Ebbert, 16th Place Presentation Individual
  • Zac Thomas, 15th Place Personal Finance
  • Elena Meves, 54th of 126 Participants Financial Math and Analysis Concepts
  • Zac Thomas, Hayden Enke, Reese Ackerman, Blake Olson, 10th Place Small Business Mgmt.
  • Hayden Enke, 14th Place Entrepreneurship
  • Blake Olson, 12th Place Entrepreneurship


Advisor – Corey Olson, winner of NSDA’s Donus D. Roberts Coaching Excellence Award

  • Dania Amra
  • Sarah Coffman
  • Sophia del Rosario
  • Maeva Djossou – Finalist, NSDA Qualifying Tournament
  • Alicia Do
  • Sri Babu
  • Nonie Foust
  • Braden Freedman
  • Cooper Gamble
  • Grace Gauthier
  • Sydney Groehler
  • Katie Keller
  • William Laudon – NSDA Nationals, Phoenix AZ
  • Ramla Maani
  • Shea Morrey – Finalist, NSDA Qualifying Tournament
  • Claire Nelson
  • Maddi Pretzer
  • Alessia Rossi
  • Loi Shah
  • Eva Timimi
  • Claire Wirt
  • Jorja Wodziak
  • Zia Raukar
  • Rocco Ruggeri – NSDA Nationals, Phoenix AZ
  • Rhys Van Ert
  • Juliann Yao
  • Alex Zoghby
  • Big 9 Speech Conference Champions
  • Third Place team at the National Speech and Debate Association Qualifying Tournament

Science Olympiad

Advisor – Aaron Larson

Team placed 3rd in state

All State Band

Teacher – Aaron Cole

  • Monica Robertson
  • Elise Nienow
  • Tor Lindell
  • Thomas Stoeckig
  • Noah Davis
  • Cam Vareberg
  • Esmira Hodzic

All State Orchestra

Teacher – Kathleen Kuisle

  • Soren Laack
  • Eric Kugel
  • Oliver Borisch
  • James Bajzer