2021 Mayor’s Medal of Honor recipients announced

(ABC 6 News) – Monday, Mayor Kim Norton announced the 2021 City of Rochester Mayor’s Medal of Honor Recipients.

In its 38th year, the Mayor’s Medal of Honor recognizes residents who have gone above and beyond to serve the community. Recipients were nominated by members of the community.

“In a point of history full of unknowns, it is an honor to serve a city that is consistently full of strong, dedicated, and compassionate individuals,” states Mayor Kim Norton. “I am humbled to recognize these individuals and their outstanding contributions to the Rochester community. While I wish we could have all been together, it was a wonderful experience to get the one-on-one time with each of the recipients.”

In light of public health recommendations due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Mayor Norton honored recipients individually this year in lieu of a formal gathering.

2021 recipients by category:

  • Artistic/Cultural Achievement Award: Kalianne Morrison
  • Champion of Diversity Award: Toni Adafin
  • Community-Wide Service Award: David Jiang
  • Educational Excellence Award: Martine Haglund
  • Excellence in City Service Award: Kerri Ostby
  • Excellence in Industry Award: William Forsman
  • Heroism Award: Faith Evers
  • Human Services Award: Armin Budimlic
  • Legacy Award: Joanne Rosener
  • Mayor’s Award: Karel Weigel
  • Personal Achievement Award: Rudy Naul
  • Senior/Elder Achievement Award: Stephen Troutman
  • Sustainability Award: Jesse and Tahnee Hoekstra
  • Youth Serving Community Award: Dominick Nowakowski
  • Key to the City: Harry Buck and Gale Julius

Detailed information about the recipients and their accomplishments is forthcoming, as well as a video featuring each recipient being recognized. A list of past Mayor’s Medal of Honor recipients can be found on the Office of the Mayor webpage.