College Football Playoff to expand to 12 teams, aiming for 2026 start date

(ABC 6 News) – The decision to expand the playoff format was reportedly unanimous.

In a development set to dramatically change college football once again, the CFP Board of Managers has reportedly decided to expand the current four-team playoff format to 12 teams starting in 2026.

It’s a move that many college football fans have wanted for some time and is most certainly going to bring in more revenue for teams and programs.

The expanded format will certainly give an opportunity for more Power 5 teams under the shadows of powerhouses like Alabama and Ohio State as well as more chances for Group of 5 teams like Cincinnati.

Per The Athletic, the decision to expand was allegedly unanimous and according to ESPN’s Pete Thamel, the possibility of beginning the expanded format could come sooner than 2026 due to the amount of money this will bring in. The current four-team format is part of the College Football Playoff’s TV deal with ESPN which does in expire in 2026.

Ultimately, no matter when the expansion happens, the idea of a Minnesota Football playoff game suddenly seems more likely one day.