ABC 6 GOTW: Mankato East spoils Austin’s Hall of Fame night, brushes off rally for 88-78 victory

(ABC 6 News) – Six more Austin high school alumni forever etched themselves in Packer lore. At halftime of Austin’s contest against Mankato East, the following were inducted into the school’s athletic hall of fame:

Warren “Pete” Lade (his wife accepted the honor on his behalf) (Class of 1929): Won 11 out of 12 possible letters starring in football, baseball, and basketball. Two-time All-District and All-Region team honoree and a two-time member of the All-State Tournament team.

Debbie (Diggins) Van Leeuwen (Class of 1978): Lettered in softball and volleyball. A pioneering member of the Packers’ first softball team after the MSHSL-sanctioned interscholastic softball competition for girls in 1977. Helped the Packers volleyball team earn a berth in the 1976 State tournament.

Dr. Pat Landherr, Pharm.D (Class of 1979): Set school football records for most tackles in a single game (22) and for most tackles in a single season (154). Voted 1978 team MVP and Most Outstanding Special Teams Player. Selected to play in the 1979 MN All-Star football game.

Dena Diggins (Class of 1983): Played basketball and softball earning three letters in each sport. Dena’s clutch hitting her sophomore year was key to the Packer’s undefeated 1981 season. She drove in the winning run in the State Tournament title game despite playing with a broken thumb.

Dr. Beau Webber (Class of 2003): Began his AHS diving career in 7th grade. Four-time All-Conference honoree. Former KAAL Sports Prep Athlete of the Week. Set two Austin dive records, one for six dives and one for 11.

Lynn Gulbrandson (Swimming and Diving Coach): Spent 34 years at the helm of the girls’ swimming and diving team and 33 years as head coach of the boys’ team. Over this time, his girls’ teams made 33 State Meet appearances and his boys’ teams made 30. Lynn’s teams had several top-ten finishes at State. Boys’ and girls’ Big 9 Coach of the Year, Section Coach of the Year, State Coach of the Year finalist.

As for the basketball game, Carson Schweim drilled six 3-pointers and tallied 30 points as conference leader Mankato East outscored Austin 88-78. Ater Manyuon (26 points, 16 rebounds) and Buai Duop (15 points, 14 rebounds) both had huge games for Austin.