Created: August 01, 2020 11:55 PM
(ABC 6 News) -- It has been one year since Minnesota's hands free law was implemented. Authorities say drivers followed through but not long after slipped back into old habits.
The Olmsted County Sheriff's Office shared the number of citations given to drivers who violated the hands free law. They say 19,160 citations were given across the state, "During the first 11 months of the Minnesota Hands-Free Law, law enforcement issued 19,160 citations across the state. 57-percent of those citations were issued to drivers ages 21 to 41 years of age," said Deputy Jacob Klein.
Extra enforcement of the Hands Free Law will take effect on Minnesota roads starting August 1st through August 8th.
Authorities are encouraging those who see drivers breaking the law to report it to them.
Copyright 2020 - KAAL-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company