5 new harmful weeds found in Minnesota

Updated: January 13, 2020 02:27 PM
Created: January 13, 2020 02:22 PM

(ABC 6 News) - Five species of weeds are now on the Minnesota state's list for Noxious Weed Prohibited Eradicate List in eight counties. 


The new weeds, and where they were found, are: 

  • Black swallow-wort
    • Washington County
  • Cutleaf teasel
    • Blue Earth County
  • Oriental bittersweet
    • Nicollet and Rice Counties
  • Palmer amaranth 
    • Houston and Lincoln Counties
  • Poison hemlock
    • Clay, Nobles, and Rice Counties

Weeds categorized at Prohibited Eradicate by the Minnesota Department of Agriculture are the worst types of weeds. These weeds may be harmful to public health, the environment, public roads, crops, livestock or other property. 

State law requires the plant to be destroyed, both above and below ground.

If you need to report noxious weeds in your area, contact the MDA at

Copyright 2020 - KAAL-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company

Comment on Facebook