Powell heads Mayo Clinic Board of Trustees

Powell heads Mayo Clinic Board of Trustees Photo: Mayo Clinic Board of Trustees.

Created: February 19, 2021 03:05 PM

(ABC 6 News) - A former FCC Chairman has been elected to lead Mayo Clinic Board of Trustees. 

Michael Powell, the former Federal Communications Commission (FCC) chair who oversaw the rapid transformation of communications markets into the digital age, was elected chair of the Mayo Clinic Board of Trustees at its meeting on Friday, Feb. 19. He will serve a four-year term.

Powell joined the Mayo Clinic Board of Trustees in 2011 and has effectively led the board’s committees responsible for business development and information technology. He is president and CEO of The Internet & Television Association (NCTA), one of the largest trade associations in Washington, D.C. This association represents the communications and content industries.

The Mayo Clinic Board of Trustees, a 31-member group of public representatives and Mayo Clinic physicians and administrators, is responsible for patient care, medical education and research at Mayo Clinic's campuses in ArizonaFlorida and Minnesota, as well as Mayo Clinic Health System, which is a network of clinics and hospitals serving more than 60 communities in Iowa, Minnesota and Wisconsin. The Board of Trustees meet quarterly.

Copyright 2021 - KAAL-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company