Recapping the 1st Congressional District primary races

(ABC 6 News) – Tuesday’s Minnesota primary vote coincided with a Special Election for the state’s 1st Congressional District seat left vacant by the late Representative Jim Hagedorn.

Republican candidate Brad Finstad has won the U.S. House District 1 Special Election against Democratic candidate Jeff Ettinger.

Results show Finstad with 51% of the vote, Ettinger with 47%. Richard Reisdorf (LMN) and Haroun McClellan (RP) both received 1%.

As a result, Finstad will serve the remaining five months of the late Jim Hagedorn’s term.

Meanwhile, Finstad and Ettinger will face off again in the November general election because they both won their respective party nominations for the U.S. House in Minnesota’s 1st Congressional District primary.

Finstad received 76% of the vote against opponent Jeremy Munson, who received 24% of the votes.

Ettinger received 92% of the vote against James Rainwater who received 6% of the votes and George Kalberer who received 2% of the votes.

Political analyst Shane Baker breaks down this unusual and historic ballot, and what that means heading to the November General Election.