Journalists from Philippines, Russia given Nobel Peace Prize

OSLO (AP) – The Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to journalists Maria Ressa of the Philippines and Dmitry Muratov of Russia.

They were cited for their fight for freedom of expression.

The winners were announced Friday by Berit Reiss-Andersen, chair of the Norwegian Nobel Committee.

The award is intended to honor an individual or organization that has “done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations.”