Two Dozen MN Counties Added to Federal Disaster Declaration

Updated: 08/01/2014 6:56 PM
Created: 08/01/2014 1:22 PM
By: Sean Baker

(ABC 6 News) -- The federal government added 24 Minnesota counties and two tribal governments to the president's disaster declaration on Friday.

The following counties are now available for federal assistance:

Beltrami, Blue Earth, Brown, Carver, Dodge, Faribault, Koochiching, Lac Qui Parle, Lake of the Woods, Le Sueur, Marshall, Martin, McLeod, Nicollet, Redwood, Rice, Roseau, Scott, Sibley, Steele, Todd, Wadena, Waseca, and Yellow Medicine counties and the tribal governments of the Red Lake Band of Chippewa and Prairie Island Indian Community.

Altogether, 32 counties and two tribal governments have been included in the declaration and approved for federal assistance. Two weeks ago, a major disaster declaration was announced for Chippewa, Freeborn, Jackson, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Renville and Rock Counties. 

Six flood-affected counties are still under review by the Federal Emergency Management Agency. Those are: Dakota, Hennepin, Lyon, Ramsey, Watonwan, and Wright.

Under a presidential disaster declaration, FEMA will fund 75 percent of approved costs. The state of Minnesota will fund the non-federal share. Eligible work can include debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster and repair or replacement of damaged public facilities such as roads, bridges and recreation areas.

On Friday, the U.S. Department of Transportation also announced it will give $5 million to repair Minnesota roads damaged by June's widespread flooding.

Photo: MGN\