Locals Make Large Portion of Silica Sand Advisory Board

Updated: 01/13/2014 6:34 PM
Created: 01/13/2014 11:10 AM

(ABC 6 NEWS) -- A 15-member joint advisory panel has been formed to help create possible rulemaking for regulating silica sand operations in Minnesota.  The panel was formed by the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency and Department of Natural Resources.

Members represent local government, citizens and industry. The committee will first meet on January 29th and continue meeting monthly until new rules or rule revisions are proposed.

Here are the members of the panel, broken down into groups:

Local government representatives

Beth Proctor, Lime Township

Allen Frechette, Scott County

Keith Fossen, Hay Creek Township

Lynn Schoen, City of Wabasha

Kristi Gross, Goodhue County and Minnesota Association of County Planning and Zoning Administrators

Citizen representatives

Kelley Stanage, resident of Houston County

Katie Himanga, resident of Lake City

Jill Bathke, resident of Hennepin County

Jim McIlrath, resident of Goodhue County

Vince Ready, resident of Winona County

Industry representatives

Aaron Scott, Fairmount Minerals

Mike Wallenius, Unimin Corp.

Brett Skilbred, Jordan Sands and Industrial Sand Council

Tom Rowekamp, Sand Mine Operator in Winona County

Tara Wetzel, Mathy Construction and Aggregate and Ready Mix Association